Border County Award

Only available to out-of-state students from Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska or Tennessee counties bordering Missouri

S&T is excited to introduce the S&T Border County Award exclusively for students living in counties contiguous to Missouri!*  

  • Award is a 100% waiver of out of state tuition and replaces any previous Illinois Commitment, Groundbreaker Merit or Transfer Merit Scholarship.
  • Based on ACT/SAT results, students will also qualify for the Border County Extra Award. See below for more details.
  • Only awarded to out-of-state students who come from counties bordering Missouri and starting on-campus at Missouri S&T in fall 2022. Students in the Missouri State Cooperative program are not eligible for the Border County Award.
  • Students must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents to receive this award.
  • Award is renewable for a total of eight semesters for incoming freshman students and a total of four semesters for incoming transfer students. The student must remain an S&T full-time status with at least a 3.00 GPA to be qualify for renewal.

The S&T Border County Award is available for students from the following counties:

  • Illinois: Adams, Alexander, Calhoun, Hancock, Jackson, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Pike, Randolph, St. Clair, Union
  • Iowa: Appanoose, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Lee, Page, Ringgold, Taylor, VanBuren, Wayne
  • Kentucky: Ballard, Carlisle, Fulton, Hickman
  • Nebraska: Nemaha, Otoe, Richardson
  • Tennessee: Dyer, Lake

* Residents of Arkansas, Kansas, and Oklahoma are eligible for the Missouri S&T Connection Program.

If you do not qualify for this scholarship, please check out other scholarships on our website that you might qualify for.  Missouri S&T Scholarships

To receive the S&T Border County Award, complete the following steps:

1. Complete the Border County Acceptance form -

2. Sign up for Advising & Registration -

• First-time students must sign up for Advising & Registration by May 1, 2022.

• Transfer students must sign up for Transfer Advising by May 1, 2022

Border County Scholarship

The Border County Extra Scholarship is also awarded to qualifying students who have accepted the Border County Award.

Scholarship name Extra Award  Minimum ACT/SAT 
Border County Extra Scholarship

$3,000 minimum annually 34 ACT / 1490 SAT
$2,000 minimum annually 31 ACT / 1390 SAT
$1,500 minimum annually 28 ACT / 1300 SAT
  • The scholarship is renewable contingent on continued renewal of the Border County Award. Student must maintain a 3.00 cumulative GPA and full-time enrollment.
  • Scholarship is only for U.S. citizens or permanent residents. 
  • The scholarship is for new incoming students (freshman or transfer) to Missouri S&T starting in fall 2022.
  • ACT or SAT scores are required to receive this scholarship. Students may submit multiple test scores to receive or upgrade this scholarship through June 2022. Superscores will be accepted.